Great Advice to Writers – Questions

Education is the losing of opinions. Not the gaining of them.

I know, I know… when it comes to advice for writers I have a distinct take it or leave it kind of attitude. For such a broad , all encompassing field, there is rarely any advice that suits everyone. One size, or font, does not fit all.

That said though, something occurred to me when reading someones’ blog yesterday http://chaptertk.wordpress.com/ She was brave and talented enough to share something she had written in her early teens. I noticed that within it were a multitude of questions.
Not facts, certainties, assumptions and definites. Questions. A need to question, to find out, to investigate, to subvert, to understand. To pull at the loose threads at the corners of the world and see what unravels.

And does this not became harder as we become older or more experienced? To keep an open mind, to ask the basic questions of how things work and why they are the way they are?
And to change them?

Is it not a writers job to ask questions? To make sense of things or to make nonsense of things? Doesn’t all fiction begin with a question –
What if…?

So comment if you have the time, I would really appreciate it. And I am very interested to know your thoughts.

What questions do you ask before starting a story / novel?
What questions do you ask during the writing process? (Apart from why the hell do I do this to myself?)
What do you ask during your edit?
And when finished?

Please share this blog with anyone you know who writes – I am keen to hear as many ideas as I can on this.
Thanks for dropping in. Good to see ya.

4 thoughts on “Great Advice to Writers – Questions

  1. phantomwriter143 09/05/2014 / 2:02 am

    1. What questions do you ask before starting a story / novel? Mostly, I ask none. When a story ideas pops into my head, I hurry and get it down without asking any questions at all. I don’t doubt my imagination or stop my stream-of-consciousness/brainstorming. I just ride out the storm until it’s spent.
    2. What questions do you ask during the writing process? “How can I make this unexpected?” I don’t want my story to be typical or full of anticipated adventures/endings. And “does this sound real?” when I’m writing dialogue.
    3. What do you ask during your edit? Almost always: “Do I need this?” I have a tendency to be quite verbose in the first draft, so I’m constantly asking myself what I can cut without disrupting the actual story.
    4. And when finished? I always ask myself if there’s anything I can do to make it better. Even after all the edits are done. I don’t think I’ll ever be 100% happy with any of my writing because words lack what imagination dreams up.

    Hope that helps! Good luck with your research!

    • Curlydaz 09/05/2014 / 1:55 pm

      Thank you for your comments. Particularly about dialogue. I find that is the part I question the most- it’s got to be authentic and true to character or it sticks out like a sore doo-dah! Editing is the pits for me. Perspiration rather than inspiration. But luckily I have a fab editor who helps. I always address it problems with what if… And ask if the answer is believable too. It’s grand to hear your take on the questions. Thank you very much for responding.

  2. TK 09/05/2014 / 4:00 pm

    I think, if we do it right, we should never run out of questions. With every answer, we open the door to new questions. Just because we might not be able to come up with a question to ask does not mean there isn’t one that can be asked. We don’t like to leave things open-ended, though. We want to find the answer and move on. That’s the kind of thinking that creates closed minds.

    As for your questions:
    What questions do you ask before starting a story / novel?
    I feel like starting to write a novel is sort of like the show Hoarders. Your mind is a mess of ideas and you just don’t know where to start. The question I often get is: How to I begin? It seems a lot of people struggle taking that first step and jumping in.

    What questions do you ask during the writing process? (Apart from why the hell do I do this to myself?)
    What coffee drink will best fuel my creative mind today? How do I avoid editing while writing the first draft? How do I avoid getting discouraged? And don’t even get me started on the writer’s block.

    What do you ask during your edit?
    I haven’t gotten to this step yet, so my main questions are how, who and how much?

    And when finished?
    Publish or self-publish?

    • Curlydaz 09/05/2014 / 4:39 pm

      They are great answers. Like the coffee part. Ha ha. Editing as you go is impossible but impossible to resist too. I know a good one. She’s really helped me with my second novel. I could recommend her if you like? Really like your blog. Keep up the writing. You’ve definitely got the knack.

Leave a Reply

