Love

Love whittles each man to the quick,

An oak tree to a cocktail stick.

4 thoughts on “Love

  1. dpazdalton 28/05/2014 / 12:50 am

    My only observation after reading through some of your blogs is that if you blog to sharpen your skills as a writer, you should write a lot, not just a little. One liners are fine, but they are just that – one line. It isn’t that perfect line that makes a novel; it’s a lot of lines, and they don’t need to be perfect. They need to be strung together in a way that tells a story, if you’re practicing to be a fiction writer. I was convinced at one point, when young and getting the hang of this writing business, that a great line was needed to sell the book. I understand now that it’s a great story, well written, that makes the book work. Besides, it’s easier that way. William Faulkner once said that he first wanted to be a poet, and having failed at that turned to writing short stories, and having failed at that, he became a novelist. Writing doesn’t have to be a work of art to be worthwhile. I started as a poet, wrote short stories and novellas, but I find that too confining. It depends upon mood. Sometimes when I’m not feeling wordy, I write poems or songs. That mood, however, doesn’t come along all that often. Keep up the hard work, keep trying, and write a lot.

    • Curlydaz 28/05/2014 / 11:24 am

      Very insightful and wise words. I must admit I devote so much time to actually writing my novel that the goals if my blog sometimes get lost, or at least, the initial reason I started blogging. You are right about honing my craft and the sometimes brief nature of my blogs.
      Firstly I think it is partly because I am turned off by overly long entries, sometimes regardless if style or content I find them hard to persevere with (in some cases that is my kids, I know).
      Secondly, I find I can be verbose or somewhat florid at times so I have concentrated on keeping the word count down and the meaning up.
      Thirdly, as part of my novel, I have made the challenging attempt at beginning each of my many Chapters with a created aphorism. I have and do find it a challenge to distill an idea down like that- but I’m aware that does not fit with why I said I was blogging in the first place. Maybe I will inflict more of myself upon the blogging world and practice as I should. Thanks for writing.

      • dpazdalton 28/05/2014 / 5:16 pm

        Lots of folks, me included, think John Steinbeck’s Cannery Row has the best opening paragraph ever written. He was a master at creating aphorisms. One other point. You first wrote poetry, right? Some of the best stories ever written are in poetry form. It could be that you are a poet at heart. I was told many years ago that about myself, that I’d have to work hard at being wordy enough to write novels. My father was a poet, and he had difficulty writing prose (although he did well at it). I’ve known men who worked for a long time as newspaper writers, and they too had some trouble with long form prose required of novels. Editors are fussy people, difficult to deal with, but they know that too much narrative or dialogue isn’t good. In time, your tendency to keep it short might work well for you. I wonder how long it took Steinbeck to write that first paragraph in Cannery Row?

      • Curlydaz 28/05/2014 / 6:00 pm

        Great choice. I read Cannery row when I was at school and I think I was too young to really appreciate it. Might have to revisit it now. I think the transition from poetry to prose is a very difficult for me. Poetry comes naturally to me and I find it unrestrictive and liberating. The scale of a novel sometimes seems daunting to me. Balancing plot, characters, dialogue, description and perspective is challenging, especially to make it all consistent and engaging. Poetry is like staring at a picture you love. Novel writing is like walking around a gallery looking for the picture you painted. Thanks for your insight. Keep in touch and I am interested in your posts. I find the way you write very classy.

Leave a Reply

